Organization Structure


Management level

Management Committee (MC)
Consists of Action members from all participating countries

Steering Committee (SC)
Consists of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Working Group Coordinators and two external expert advisors


Executive level

Action Chair

Prof. Bruno Glaser - Soil Biogeochemistry - Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg (Germany)


Dr Ellen Graber - The Volcani Center ARO - Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development (Israel)

Working Group Coordinators

Working Group 1

Prof.  Heike Knicker - Dept. of Geoecology and Biogeochemistry at IRNS/CSIC (Spain)

Mr Hans-Peter Schmidt - Ithaka Institute (Switzerland)

Working Group 2

Dr Costanza Zavalloni - Dept. of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences - University of Udine (Italy)

Dr Frank Verheijen - CESAM - University of Aveiro (Portugal)

Working Group 3

Dr Saran Sohi - UK Biochar Research Centre - Edinburgh (United Kingdom)

Ms Nele Ameloot - Department of Soil Management - Ghent University (Belgium)

Working Group 4

Dr Jürgen Kern - Leibniz Institute for Agricultural Engineering - Potsdam (Germany)

Dr Ruben Sakrabani - SAS - Cranfield University (United Kingdom)

STSM Manager

Prof. Claudia Kammann  - Hochschule Geisenheim University (Germany)

Gender Balance Manager

Utra Mankasingh - Institute of Earth Sciences - University of Iceland (Iceland)

Project Secretary & Website Editor

Mr Georg Lemmer - HU Berlin (Germany)

Ms Verena-Isabell Lehr - MLU Halle-Wittenberg (Germany)

Administrative Coordination at MLU Halle-Wittenberg (Germany)

Dr Sigrid Köhne

Ms Luise Störmer

DC Rapporteurs

Mr Michael Mente - Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe (BGR, Germany)

Prof Nikos Katsaros - National Center for Scientific Research (Greece)

Science Officer

Dr Giuseppe Lugano - COST Office Brussels (Belgium)

Administrative Officer

Ms Anja van der Snickt - COST Office Brussels (Belgium)